I’ve recommended my favourite podcasts to my fellow writing buddies and thought it was about time to posted about it here.

My favourites are ‘Writing Excuses’ (http://www.writingexcuses.com/) and ‘Helping Writers become Authors’ by K.M Weiland (https://www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com/).

cropped-WX-WordPressBannerRibbon2017PurpleYellow

600x600bb

Both are weekly podcasts about writing. Writing Excuses is hosted by fantasy authors, Brandon Sanderson, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Dan Wells. Though it has a fantasy leaning, the topics each week look at issues that touch upon writing in any genre. Some examples of they give of certain aspects of writing are mainly fantasy stories but, otherwise, it’s useful for all aspiring writers.

K.M Weiland started out self-publishing before she got traditionally published. She writes fantasy novels and books on how to structure and outline your novel.

Both are amazingly useful in touching upon topics that get to the heart of the nitty-gritty of putting words on page, editing, revising, structure, starts and endings, characters, conflict, etc, etc.

K.M Weiland is definitely in the ‘plotter’ camp in that she outlines extensively and advocates her approach to writing. I’m firmly in her plotting camp and, not surprisingly, find her mind and approach to writing very much in tune with my own. The guys at Writing Excuses vary on the plotter-pantser scale. They also have guests on each week that vary in genre. There’s is more of discussion, you get multiple points of view on the topic of the week which is fab.

The benefit to me of these podcasts is that I can listen in the car to and from work and soak-up the ideas, tips and advice. Sometimes, it’s just nice to hear that published authors struggle with the same things as I do. Knowing whether or not a happy or sad ending is the right ending; diagnosing the flaws in scenes that appear to lack power, etc They help to flesh out the writing world for me and help me to think through issues that are troubling me now or have troubled me in the past.

Both series are 15-20 minutes long and are incredibly valuable.

If you’ve never tried listening to podcasts to help your writing, give it a try. What reason can there be not to?

So, you’re out of excuses… get listening!

