So goes the writing advice of the amazing, Pat Rothfuss (The Name of the Wind/Wise Man’s Fear) and it’s so true. In fact, I’d go as far as to say that it’s the best writing advice you can ever get!

4c714503f810268802753dafdaf3b1d7--writing-advice-on-writing

Currently, in a desire to get my first draft finished by September (which is a tad ambitious!), I am getting up at 5 am three days a week to grab an extra hour or so writing time.

Does it help?

Yes, is does. Okay, today I only managed to re-read what I did last time I sat down to write, tinker with that a bit and add another 250 (approx.) words but that’s still another 750 per week, 3,000 per month which, on top of my normal writing time (at more sensible times of the day!) gives me a better chance of hitting target than not bothering with the early morning push.

Once you get used to it, it’s not all that bad. The alarm goes off and you think, ‘Yes! What can I add this morning?’ and off you go. I also find that it gets my mind working first thing on my story which helps me keep it in mind all day. Thinking time is crucial to allow your mind to consider what’s coming next and to get ready for the next session. I’m a planner but I don’t do detailed scene outlies other than knowing what I need to happen. I don’t know exactly ‘how’ it will happen. So, I spend time thinking about that and then let myself loose when I get time at the keyboard.

Give it a try. If nothing else, it’s quiet.

